An Update: The University Life – End of Month One

Hello my fellow internet goers. So, I know I broke my promise back in May, but in all honesty, it wasn’t the right time for me to pick up the blogging life again. This summer was insanely busy, and that would not have gone well for me if I had been blogging on top of everything else. But now I’m settled into residence at university, and I have so many post ideas! So I guess I’ll start with what I’ve learned so far in the first month that I’ve been living “on my own”, so to speak.

First of all: University is not like the movies

After the excitement of freshman week was over, I realized something very quickly: there’s not a house party every night of the week. You’re not pressured into doing a keg stand or drinking if you don’t want to. Sure, on HOCO there were parties on every block – my university has a very famous street that is filled with people in purple from 8 am to about 5 pm on the day of homecoming. It’s insanity. But other than casual drinking in residence and that one floor that’s always hosting a lit party, unless you go looking for huge parties and keg stands every night, university isn’t really like the movies. That may change when I’m of legal drinking age, and living off-campus, but so far, university hasn’t lived up to its party expectations. Except for the engineers. They’re so stressed they have to drink. They live a complicated life from what I’ve heard.

Second: It’s a big slap in the face – you get homework on basically the first day.

By the time I had the syllabus for a course in my hands, I also had readings to do. When classes start after that amazing freshman week, it’s like being thrown into an ice cold lake in the middle of summer. You’re enjoying the relaxed atmosphere, soaking up the sun, and then suddenly you’re punched in the face with a whole bunch of new responsibilities, including but not limited to: budgeting, laundry, and feeding yourself? God bless meal plans, because otherwise I would have been living off of Mr. Noodles and Cup-A-Soup for the entire year. On top of living on your own for probably the first time, you have to remember that your parents aren’t here to nag you about doing homework and assignments anymore. You have to stay on top of your work all by yourself. My best advice: purchase both a large dry-erase calendar, and an agenda/planner, or whatever you’d like to call it. And actually use them! I was notorious for buying agendas and using them for about two weeks before I forgot or became lazy. So far, I’ve been pretty solid in my agenda use. I strongly encourage it. Ten out of ten recommend.

Third: Going to bed early really does make you feel better.

I know, I know, I can hear my mom gloating in victory at me too. Funny how she turned out to be right about this one. Honestly though, going to bed early really does make a difference. After the craziness of freshman week was over, and I was able to establish a decent sleeping schedule, I found that I really did feel refreshed in the morning, and I had fewer issues getting out of bed. Okay, maybe going to bed at 11:30 or midnight isn’t exactly decent, but it really does make a difference rather than going to bed at 1 am or 2. The irony in this is that I’m writing this post at 2:21 in the morning. I fell off this schedule during the past week, and I can really notice the difference. I’ve been waking up late and rushing to lecture, which is really not fun. So for your own sake, take my advice and go to bed at a good time for you. Whether than means you stay up to watch just one more episode on Netflix, or you stay up just one more hour to finish your paper, or pass out at 9pm, just make sure you get enough sleep. You’ll thank yourself later for it.

For now, that’s all the advice I’m truly able to remember at 2:30 in the morning. I’ll keep you guys updated, and begin to post regularly. Goodnight!

Leave a Reply

