The Hidden Oracle Review

The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan

Stars: ★★★★☆ (3.8/5)

Alas, another book set in Percy Jackson’s world has come and gone, and I don’t know how to feel about it.

I’m not going to lie: this book didn’t grab me like I’d hoped it would. It didn’t pull me in like all of the Percy Jackson and Heroes of Olympus books before it did. Hence the 3.8 star rating. I rounded up to 4 because I know in my heart this is not just a 3 star book, but it’s not quite a 4 star either. Maybe I’m just bitter, and was mildly disappointed that Percy and the gang did not make as big of an appearance as I’d hoped they would. Don’t get me wrong, the book was fantastic; Riordan’s writing was as entertaining, clear, and amazing as I’d remembered. He was still able to pull a fast one on me and surprise me with plot twists. But I am still left feeling unsatisfied, and I think it may be because I long for the good old days of Percy, Annabeth, and Grover fighting it out to the bitter end.

Plot wise, Riordan always does a fantastic job, and I am excited to see where the next book takes us. While this one does feel like a bit of a build up to the sequel, The Lost Hero felt like that to me, and the Heroes of Olympus series was still mind-blowing. It will be interesting to see where the new prophecy takes Apollo, and I am still excited for the next book. Now that a prophecy has been unveiled, there will be more twists and turns of excitement and I can’t wait for it.

As for characters, Riordan does a splendid job (as usual) of really capturing his character’s voices. I think he wrote Apollo amazingly well, and really portrayed how a god would act if they became mortal; especially the god of the sun, music, archery, healing, poetry etc (i.e. someone with a lot of responsibility and ego). Apollo also went through some great character development, which I was thoroughly impressed with. I also think he wrote Meg fairly well, although at the beginning she did sound a little young, even for 12. Although, I do believe it could have been written that way on purpose, to give the idea that Meg was acting. I did like her character, and thought she was quite real. Chiron was the same as always, as were Nico and Will, and of course, my golden boy Percy (when he showed up). It’s pleasing to see that Riordan can so easily slip back into the voices of some older characters.

Overall, I am both happy and disappointed with the book (although there are hints to the return of some of the gang) and I am excited to read the next installment. 3.8 stars to The Hidden Oracle, and I hope I can give the next book a full 4 stars, or else I really will be disappointed.

2 thoughts on “The Hidden Oracle Review

Leave a Reply

