Throne of Glass Review

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Stars: ★★★★☆

In all honesty, I was not expecting to enjoy Throne of Glass as much as I did. For some reason I was really skeptical starting the book. Maybe it’s because I had really high expectations, I’ve been putting off reading this book for like 4 years, and I really wanted this to become part of the trophy shelf – the pedestal for my true favourite book series.

I have to say that ding ding ding – Throne of Glass has made it to the honoured trophy shelf. Here it resides with Percy Jackson & Heroes of Olympus, The Hunger Games trilogy, the Shatter Me trilogy, and a few others. I don’t want to admit that I was sucked in to Celaena’s world, but oh man was I sucked in like a piece of dust under a Dyson vacuum. I loved it. I loved it so much more than I expected to and I am very happy about that. Five minutes after I finished the book I ordered the next two in the series online because I need more. I love the intricacies and secrets of Celaena’s world, and I want to dive right into it, despite the flaws it has.

Writing: I really loved Maas’s writing style here. It was very different from a lot of other books I’ve read, and I really enjoyed the way she used specific words to add emphasis and really make the story work. Her style really added to the story and the world she created and I ate up every single bit of it. I thought the narration worked well and kept the story going at a nice pace. It never felt like the story was dragging on and on. While there were some typical tropes, such as Dorian, the crown prince with big daddy issues and the desire to you know, not be a prince anymore, and heaven forbid ANOTHER love triangle, I didn’t find these to run the whole story, but were more cooking on the back burners. I also just want to address something: I love how Maas ACTUALLY addressed the issue of Celaena getting her period. I don’t remember the last time I read a book with a heroine that actually addressed THAT. So props to you Maas. You win this one.

Plot: While there were some factors to the plot that were slightly lacking such as who the villain was (also why I didn’t rate this book 5 stars), Maas managed to twist in smaller twists that  I think really made the story flow. Some of the plot was dedicated to world building, but I understand why, as it allowed Maas to establish the world for the series. There were some irrelevant parts I’d say, but they were so minor it didn’t hinder the flow of the plot at all. Other than the disappointing twist of the villain, I’d say it was a fairly well done plot. Nothing otherworldly, but definitely worth reading. I really liked the twist with Nehemia but I won’t reveal what it is. There were some holes that were patched up later, such as Celaena suddenly regainng a lot of strength and her knowing certain things about the Wyrdmarks but it was minor enough to not inhibit the story. I am disappointed there wasn’t as much killing as I would hope, but I feel the next books will be full of all the blood and gore.

Characters:

Celaena: Okay, I know a lot of people loathe Celaena, and I can understand why; she seems to perfect, she complains a lot, she cares about her appearance, etc. But in all honesty, who doesn’t do these things? In all honesty, I loved her character. I loved her humour, her will, and her overall badassery. I know there wasn’t a huge amount of evidence for it in this book due to the competition, but it’s not always about physical strength. And to the people saying she is too cocky, and too proud – she’s the best goddamn assassin in the land at only 18. Who wouldn’t be cocky about that? Maas wrote her exactly as I pictured an 18 year old assassin to be: witty, snide, rebellious, strong, proud, and yeah, a bit emotionally distraught. And if you think no teenager ever in existence has acted like that, seriously have you met us?

tumblr_mrg9cr3nkv1s8l4eao1_r1_500

I also read about people complaining that Celaena had no character development in the story. Hmm, well I think learning to trust those who you hate most (such as you know Chaol or Dorian, or even Phillipa, who are all associated with the evil king) counts as character development? Maybe I’m wrong. This added on with people believing she is too proud drive me up the wall. Hubris is her flaw. I’m excited to see how it will play out in the series. Also so what if Celaena is proud of her appearance? If it was a guy everyone would be supporting it. I’m not even going to get into it, but Celaena is allowed  to like how she looks. Everyone is allowed to like how they look. I can’t talk about this anymore I’m getting heated okay overall I loved Celaena end of story.

Dorian: Dorian, Dorian, Dorian. What do I have to say about Dorian? Well, he drove me slightly insane for almost the whole book for becoming stupidly infatuated with Celaena after knowing her for like a week. Oh, will the insta-falling-in-love trope EVER END?

tumblr_inline_ndwrl412o91qhebd8

Anyways, typical prince with daddy issues, what’s new? Overall, Dorian didn’t excite me too  much. I did like how he began to stand up to his father at the end of the book, but I didn’t like how he was the go-to for the love triangle. (Don’t get me started on the love triangle). And whenever we got his perspective, the only thing he was thinking about was Celaena, and not even about her safety due to champions being murdered, but because she was pretty. He kept going on and on and on and okay Dorian, we get it. But please, for all that is GOOD in this world, value a woman for more than just her looks.

tumblr_inline_o3pgfdgjme1te58zi_500

Chaol: Everything I’m about to say about Chaol is proabaly going to be super biased because I don’t really like Dorian, but I love Chaol so much. The moment his character was introduced I was very intrigued. A young, attractive, reliable man as Captain of the Guard? Sign me up. His character also went through such an amazing development throughout the story of learning to trust Celaena. He’s Captain of the Guard for fuck’s sake, and he learns to trust the most deadly assassin in their world, hence allowing him to learn to trust his gut. This allows Chaol to learn that everything isn’t as it seems in the glass castle. He learns to be selfless even for those who may not be deemed worth it by society, i.e. a notorious assassin. Plus he sounds so dreamy, I am totally Team Captain of the Guard. I think it would be ironically hilarious if he and Celaena got together, since she’s a criminal and he is the total opposite. I would love to see them team up and become some badass duo who kills all the baddies.

Nehemia: I especially liked the addition of her character, especially as she is a black woman who is badass as fuck with her cool staff and boldness. I think her plot twists will really add to the story and she will become a great friend to Celaena. I’m really excited to see their friendship grow as well as for Nehemia to grow as a character, since I loved her so much this book. She’s powerful, determined, strong-willed and so so badass. All of this equals a happy me.

Overall I would definitely recommend this book, although I know it won’t be for everyone, and some people will still continue to hate Celaena. That’s okay. I’m excited to read more of the series, and see how it goes! Of course I will keep you all posted.

One thought on “Throne of Glass Review

Leave a Reply

