July TBR

Since it looks like work won’t be picking up for me unless I get another job, I’m hoping to read a lot more than I did even in June, since I am still behind on my Goodreads 2016 challenge. But I also want to start re-watching Supernatural so we’ll see how this goes. Since this is my first TBR list, I figured I would share the name of the book, the author, and my opinion on what I am expecting for that book. I’ll link the book’s Goodreads page if you would like to read a synopsis. My goal is to read at least 10 books this month so I can try to catch up on my goal. I hope to be successful.

  1. The Young Elites – Marie Lu

24611432

Goodreads Page

I’m really excited to read this book. Its premise sounds amazing and the one protagonist Adelina sounds frickin’ badass. I also can’t wait to see how the three main characters’ lives intertwine. I’ve such good things about Marie Lu’s writing that I have no doubt that this book will be good. I’m really interested in learning more about the blood fever and this new society that they all live in. I’ve put off buying and reading this book for so long, it’s really time I crack it open and dive into the madness.

Prediction: I will either fall in love with this novel and its hopefully complex characters and world, or I will be disappointed I don’t think there will be an in between. Or I will just realize I am fed up with dystopian but I don’t think that will be the result.

2. Beware That Girl – Teresa Toten

27065377Goodreads Page

I’ll be reading this book for the bookclub I joined with my two of my good friends, but I’m not too sure how I feel about it. It sounds interesting I’d say, but I also get the feeling it might be about petty drama and such, but it’s supposed to be a “psychological thriller” so I guess I will see if I’m right or not. I do like how the protagonist had a rough upbringing and has worked her way to the top, and Kate does sound interesting so I will have to see. In all honesty this isn’t something I’d normally choose to read just because it sounds like it will be all about drama and such, but alas I should not judge a book by its cover or synopsis.

Prediction: There are three options – 1) I get the Pretty Little Liars vibe all over again and DNF because that shit got so stupid and way too confusing it became so boring 2) I actually really enjoy it as a psychological thriller and tell all my friends to read it, or 3) it’s a mediocre read filled with petty drama and predictable plot twists that just peters out at the end (I’m giving you a hint that I’m personally betting on number three).

3. Cinder – Marissa Meyer

11235712Goodreads Page

Okay, do you know how dumb I felt after it took me about 4 years to figure out this is a retelling of Cinderella? I felt pretty fucking dumb. I remember picking up this book at Indigo when it was first published, and stupid 15 year old me was like “naw, I’m not interested in this” and now here I am, 4 years later, kicking myself for not reading this book when it was first published because I have heard so many good things about it and oh yeah, I love Disney. So there’s that. The only thing I’m slightly unsure about is the cyborg part (which is why 15 year old me probably put this back down at the bookstore 4 years ago – I hated robots at the time and probably thought cyborgs were stupid – I didn’t always make sense).

Prediction: I will love this book and fall in love with it and then proceed to attempt to binge read the series even though you always need money to buy books. Worst case scenario is that I hate the book and then save like $100 to spend on other books. I guess I’ll find out.

4. Dragonfly In Amber – Diana Gabaldon

5364Goodreads Page

Okay, part of me is really confused about if this is the real sequel? I’m so ????? (Literally I feel like question marks, it’s truly an emotion now). I’m only confused because the synopsis says the book is set 20 years after Outlander, but the little sneak peak I read in the back of Outlander placed it at maybe a month after. Like am I going to be reading the right book? I just want to double check because I don’t want to ruin anything. I’ll probably ask my mom because she’s read this series about 12 times (it’s her favourite) and moms know everything, so. But I am SO ready to return to 1743 (1763?) Scotland and to Jamie Fraser’s world insert heart-eyes emoji here. Emphasis on the Jamie Fraser part. I’m really hoping I can get through this massive book faster than I did Outlander, but I was also crazy busy with work then, so I should be okay now.

Prediction: Everything ends up making sense and the synopsis was mistaken about the time frame, or halfway through the book it skips to 20 years later for some reason. I will definitely have to ask my mom for clarification about this one she knows these books inside and out like I know Percy Jackson.

5. The Start of Me and You – Emery Lord

25663744

Goodreads Page

Summer puts me in such a contemporary mood, so I bought 3 contemporary YA books for my vacation at the end of the month. I can’t wait to read this on the beach. Yes, the premise does sound kinda familiar with the whole “plan to like this person but OH wait this new and strange person is so much more interesting” thing, but since there also seems to be a theme of personal growth with the conflict of Paige overcoming her fears, I have high hopes for this one. Plus that cover art is beautiful and so simplistic, I love it.

Prediction: I will fall in love with the characters but the story about Paige’s boyfriend’s death will make me terrified of my boyfriend ever swimming again, especially since he was a swimmer in high school. Although that makes me think he would be less likely to die, it will still probably freak me out. Other than that, I think I will fall in love with everything about this book.

6. What I Thought Was True – Huntley Fitzpatrick

22521559Goodreads Page

I have high hopes for this book since I loved My Life Next Door, so if I’m let down I will be seriously disappointed. I have heard that it’s actually pretty dark and not a light contemporary read, but I guess I will find out just how
dark it actually is. The premise does sound interesting though, so I’m interested to see where it will go and how it will differ from Fitzpatrick’s first novel. While MLND did have a serious conflict it wasn’t necessarily very dark.

Prediction: Will hopefully be mind blown at unexpected darkness in this YA contemporary but I don’t think it will actually be that mind blowing.

7. Finding Audrey – Sophie Kinsella

23482825

Goodreads Page

I read The Undomestic Goddess by Kinsella when I was 15 and absolutely loved it, so I’m really excited to read Finding Audrey. I’m also eager to see how Kinsella’s characters deal with mental illness and I know this will set the whole tone of the story for me. I’m also worried about whether the boyfriend will be seen as a “solution” to Audrey’s mental illness, which is very unrealistic and untrue as no one can just “fix” it. People who think this drive me nuts, and it provides a fake solution to teens with real problems. I have high hopes it won’t turn out that way but fingers crossed.

Prediction: Will be super duper impressed with Kinsella’s portrayal of anxiety and will fall in love with the characters or it will all crash down in a burning pile of crap.

8.  Heir of Fire – Sarah J. Maas

23847976Goodreads Page

I haven’t quite finished Crown of Midnight, but I’m probably going to be mad the whole time I’m reading Heir of Fire too because *SPOILER* Chaol and Celaena were so perfect together I am SO angry. I also spoiled it for myself and I know they never get back together and I want to fight someone I’m so mad about it. Anyways, once I finish Crown of Midnight I’m waiting till like the end of July to read this because I’ll be cooling off for the first half of the month.

Prediction: I will still be mad at Celaena for hating Chaol for something that wasn’t his fault but will still love her because she’s badass and I’ll probably want to punch Dorian in the face or something.

9. Fire Sermon – Francesca Haig

25494372Goodreads Page

I bought this book quite a few months ago and I’m really mad at myself for putting off reading it. The premise and world sound super intriguing and I’m a sucker for a dystopian. Although, the Indigo I bought this in didn’t have it categorized as a YA so it will be interesting to read an adult dystopian. Also the cover is so beautiful, and I love how Haig draws off the Greek myth about how people were born as “doubles” – two heads, four arms, four legs etc. and then were split by Zeus as he was afraid of their power. I mean, yeah it’s a myth about soulmates originally but I can’t wait to see how Haig retells it.

Prediction: I will either discover a new favourite series, due to awesome world and character building, or it it will all go up in flames see what I did there I’m hilarious

10. The Rose & the Dagger – Renée Ahdieh

23308084Goodreads Page

Oh my whippersnappers I am so excited to read this. I don’t even own the book yet and I want to devour it now. I want to know what happens to Shazi and Khalid so bad I am actually dying over it. I will be very upset if they aren’t reunited. I will protest – it will be like Chaolaena 2.0, I’m telling you. I also am looking forward to Ahdieh’s beautiful writing style and I’m trying not to read negative reviews because I don’t want to ruin this sequel.

Prediction: I will love this book as much as I loved the first and I will cry when I finish it because it’s only a duology and I will want more.

I know 10 books seems like a huge TBR for a month, but I know I can do it. I’ve done it before, but it will all depend on what I do in my free time etc. Let me know if you’ve read any of these books and your thoughts on them!

4 thoughts on “July TBR

Leave a Reply

