Cinder Review

Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Stars: ★★★★☆

I am so mad at myself for not reading Cinder earlier in life. I remember seeing it in the bookstore when it was first published, and stupid, naive 15 year old me was going through a phase where I did not think this book would be good, and I am still kicking myself for it. I loved this book. I am so obsessed with this world. I’m currently reading Scarlet, and it is taking me a lot longer than I want it to. I also just ordered Cress and will hopefully be getting my hands on Fairest, Winter, and Stars Above soon. In the meantime, I’m going to continue to read Scarlet and cry about Scarlet and Wolf.

Writing: I really loved Meyer’s writing style. I thought she was very descriptive, but not overly wordy, which was really nice. I know sometimes descriptions can become way too flowery (as my English teachers in high school used to say – they loved that word). Meyer’s voice through Cinder was funny and witty as well, and she kept it consistent throughout the novel, which is always important. I also loved how Meyer spent the perfect amount of time on the world building, and she didn’t regurgitate information at us about the futuristic world. Meyer added the world building details at just the right moments in the story, and then built up further throughout the novel. Overall, I was really impressed with Meyer’s writing, and so far I’m liking it in Scarlet, so I will let you know how that goes.

Plot: I have to say that the plot of Cinder is what brought the book down to 4 stars. Of course there were some twists and turns which I found to be unique, but Cinder’s secret was not at all surprising. But considering it is a retelling of Cinderella, and Meyer left very obvious hints throughout the book, it was not hard to figure out at all. I do think it is a good twist, especially when comparing it to the original tale of Cinderella. I think the added side plot involving Cinder’s sister was a good touch, to add more mystery and suspense to a more obvious plotline. I am very excited to see how everything comes together in the rest of the series is it not obvious since I basically am starting obsessed with the books now?

Characters: Wow, I’m not going to lie, I loved most of the characters in this book. I loved Cinder most of all, clearly, but I especially love Kai as well. I have a few mixed feelings about Dr. Erland, mostly because he seems a little suspicious to me. I don’t know if my strange suspicions of him will come true or not, I guess I will have to find out. I really loved Peony as well, and how she loved Cinder even if she wasn’t fully human. I hated Cinder’s stepmother, of course, because she’s written to be evil. I don’t even want to talk about Queen Levana because I want to strangle her.

Cinder: I loved Cinder. She’s a brilliant character and I love how intricately Meyer crafted her. CInder is witty and sarcastic and I thought it was fantastic. I thought it was great how Meyer created this conflict in Cinder between her being both human and cyborg melded together. It really added to the depth of her character. I also thought it was a nice touch that Meyer made her a mechanic, considering she is a cyborg, although I’m not sure the story would have worked any other way. Cinder was strong and determined, and I really love how she was so selfless in sacrificing herself to save Kai and the Commonwealth. I really like the character development she went through in standing up to those who oppressed her. I can’t wait to see how her character further develops in the next few books.

Kai: I loved Kai, I thought of him as such a cute puppy, the poor guy. I love how Meyer made him to be such a genuine character. He was humble and I just love him so much. I thought his character development was really great, going from a teenage prince to a strong emperor. I’m really excited to see how his relationship with Cinder and even with the Commonwealth develops. I think he’s a great character and I will be ecstatic to see more of him in the series.

I am in love with Marissa Meyer’s world, and I’m thoroughly pleased with this new futuristic world. I can’t wait to devour the rest of the books and find out the conclusion to this amazing series.

6 thoughts on “Cinder Review

  1. I really enjoyed reading your review! I was pretty much the same way as you when this book first came out; I didn’t think it would be anything I’d want to read. But recently, I’m seeing SUCH great reviews for this series that now I’m thinking I need to get my hands on these books ASAP!

    Like

Leave a Reply

