November TBR

Hello all my fellow bookworms! It seems I finally have a schedule that is only slightly chaotic so I can finally plan my TBR lists again! Hallelujah. Here’s hoping I actually finish all four books this month, seeing as it hopefully won’t be as stressful as October, university wise.

  1. Horror: A Literary History by Xavier Aldana Reyes

29501432I actually borrowed this book from my university’s library, hence why it’s a literary history (they like to stock more “educational” books) so I really do have to read it this month, since it’s due November 22nd! I’m honestly pretty excited to read it, since this type of thing is right up my ally. I mean, I am studying English after all. I’m hoping it will open my eyes to new views on the horror genre and talk about how it has developed, which is super interesting. I’m eager to see if they mention Stephen King and his role in the horror genre, because it’s pretty hard to argue against him being the King of Horror (haha, get it?)

Goodreads Page

2. Cress by Marissa Meyer

21469054My god, I am so excited to read this book. It is still being shipped to me in my latest Book Outlet haul, and I can’t wait for it to get here! You can bet that I am going to devour it quickly, because I can’t get enough of Meyer’s world. I highly recommend you dive into this series if you haven’t yet; it’s so intricately written, and the characters are so deep and well written and I’m so in love with all of them. I’m going to be extremely sad when I reach the end of this series, because I don’t want it to be over. I’m also really excited because Rapunzel is my favourite princess, so I really want to see how Meyer writes and portrays this alternate version of her. Let me know if you’ve read the Lunar Chronicles, and what you thought of it, what book was your favourite, etc.

Goodreads Page

3. The Rose & The Dagger by Renee Ahdieh

23308084You’re probably thinking, wow Aislyn, you’re finally going to finish this duology! And, yes, indeed I am, because my mom started and finished this series before me and I am still bitter about it. And it’s not going to be like last time, where I put it on my TBR and never got to it, no no no; I am actually going to read it this month. If not, someone please force me to, I need to know what happens! I am so excited to return to Shazi’s world, I really love the land and world that Ahdieh has created. Plus: diverse characters! It’s one of the reasons this book is so awesome, and I really recommend it as well, if you haven’t given the series a try yet. I’m very sad yet happy to be planning to finish this duology this month. It will be very bittersweet.

   Goodreads Page

4. Dragonfly In Amber – Diana Gabaldon

5364Wow, another book I’ve added to past TBRs and haven’t got to yet; what a surprise. I’m only aiming for 4 books this month, mostly because this is one of them. Since it is nearly 800 pages, I need to dedicate a bit more time to it, as sometimes the writing is very dense, and the font is very small, since I have the mass paperback versions. But I have missed Jamie Fraser too much to stay away any longer, so I’m going to start it this month and do my best to finish it as well (but no promises). I also want to see if I can snag my mom’s seasons of Outlander, since she’s a real stan and has bought season 1 and 2 on DVD. If she allows me take them is another question altogether.

Goodreads Page

 

So there you have it. My not-so-eager TBR for November. I really think 4 books is an attainable goal for me this month, so let’s pray that I am not wrong in this, as I really want to read all of these books. I can make it happen. Let me know if you have read any of these before, or if you are planning to, and what your thoughts on them are! You know me: I always love discussing books.

Leave a Reply

