Scarlet Review

Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

Stars:  ★★★★★ (4.5/5)

As you can probably guess, I devoured Scarlet right after Cinder. I thought it really lived up to the first book, and you can already tell Meyer is becoming more comfortable with her voice, even with new characters introduced. Meyer really knows how to craft a new world, and I’m very much in love with it. From her complex characters, to the intricacies of the whole plot, I can strongly say that this series is on my top ten, and I haven’t even finished it yet! I’m starting Cress this week, and I can’t wait to take another bite out of Meyer’s world.

Writing: As in the first book, I found Meyer’s writing to still be captivating and well-written; it was descriptive, engaging, and entertaining. I could really tell that she was finding her footing when it comes to her voice, and she’s doing a great job. Meyer also slipped between Cinder and Scarlet’s voices with ease, and I was happy to see that their voices were very different. Meyer also excelled in making the male voices of the book very different, between Thorne, Kai, and Wolf, which was nice to see. While her writing isn’t the most complex craft in the world, it is still delectable to read, and I can’t wait to finish the series.

Plot: I’m so excited that we got to continue with Cinder on her journey throughout Scarlet as well. I was worried I wouldn’t get to find out her half of the story through her eyes, but Meyer pulled through and kindly flipped back and forth between Cinder and Scarlet, which was awesome. It’s also an awesome way to bring the character’s stories together, which I’m guessing is going to happen in the end with all of them in Cress. I think the twist involving (SLIGHT SPOILER) Wolf is good, but not unpredictable, considering Scarlet is the retelling of Little Red Riding Hood. Considering that, I do love how Meyer changed the original fable to fit the story and plot, and I think she did a great job of grinding the details out to make it fit into her world. It was an awesome factor for the plot. The plot was also very steady throughout the book – I never felt like it was boring or dragging along. It’s also nice that everything is starting to make sense so early in the series, so that we as readers, aren’t left questioning right until the last book, which can be very frustrating.

Characters: I loved all of the characters in this book. I love the whole gang, and for so many different reasons and it’s beautiful. As for minor characters, I’m still hoping Kai will secretly support Cinder, because I know deep down he will UNDERSTAND why she did what she did I just want them to get together okay. I also won’t talk about Cinder as in depth, as I still love her character, and we did get to see more of her, but I found she was written the same as the first book, and didn’t go through as much development this story, apart from embracing who she really is, which I was happy to see. I would also love to say that props to Meyer for having diverse characters!! WOOHOO!! Cinder, Kai, and Wolf are owning it.

Scarlet: I really loved Scarlet. I thought she was well-written, apart from a few minor flaws which is a given, but I enjoyed reading about her story. She’s so saucy and tough, I can’t help but root for her. There were a few moments where I was like oh my god Scarlet just chill but I don’t blame her for overreacting about some things; I mean her grandma was kidnapped for unknown reasons and no one believed her. I do blame her for forgiving Wolf for an unnameable reason though – I am still confused about why she forgave him so easily even if he saved her life. I’m still a little salty about it to be honest, even if I do love Wolf.

Wolf: I love Wolf, my god, right from the start I did. He seemed bad as fuck in the first chapter where he’s mentioned, and I was so excited to see how his character would play out. I have to say that I was personally offended when he acted shady towards Scarlet and I wanted to smack the hell out of him for being rude. But I adore how Scarlet broke through his cracks, even if it was instalove (curse the inescapable trope of instalove). I also loved how Wolf questioned Scarlet as to why she forgave him so easily (he and I are clearly on the same page here). I thought that was such a real attribute, and it made his character come to life even more. It also displayed how he knows his flaws, and hints at even more character development to come. I can’t wait! I would also like to say that I am fully on the Scarlet-Wolf train, I ship them so hard.

ThorneOh my god I love Thorne he seems like a little baby to me and he’s such a fool I love him. But like puppy dog love. I am one hundred percent sure that if Thorne were a dog, he would be a fluffy little golden retriever puppy.

giphy

I can confirm this is an actual gif of Thorne. But really, Thorne is a hilarious character, and I love how Meyer wrote him to be the jokester of the group even if he’s still a white boy. I really hope he gets to play a bigger part in the rest of the series, although I can’t imagine Meyer cutting him out, as he and Cinder seem to be sticking together, which is really nice to see. I’m always a bit of a sucker for the jokesters, so maybe that’s why I love Thorne so much. I am excited to see the role he will play in the next two books.

Well there you have it, a gif of Thorne and everything. I know my review is a lot little later than it should have been, but university is super busy this year. Midterms are winding down now though, so I should have a bit more time to post now (cross my fingers). Anyways, happy reading fellow bookworms, and thanks for reading my review!

One thought on “Scarlet Review

Leave a Reply

