Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Books I’m Looking Forward To For The First Half Of 2017

Hello hello again all bookworms! It’s another Top Ten Tuesday, held weekly by The Broke and the Bookish, and this week’s theme is Top Ten Most Anticipated Books of 2017, essentially. I’ll be putting this list in chronological order, as that makes the most sense to me, so here we go!


Title: History Is All You Left Me25014114
Author: Adam Silvera
Publication Date: January 17th, 2017

I’ve just been introduced to Adam Silvera, and I have to say he seems like a fantastic human being. This will be the first book of his that I read, and I’ve already heard a ton of good things about it, so I am very excited to read it. It’s also going to be part of my diverse reads goal for 2017! It has LGBTQA+ characters, and I am excited to be boosting these voices and reading more diverse books. I have high hopes for this novel, and I am very pleased it’s on my TBR list.

 


Title: Wires and Nerve
Author: Marissa Meyer29772863
Publication Date: January 31st, 2017

Oh man, I am so excited for Marissa Meyer’s first ever graphic novel following Iko for a great adventure! I love the Lunar Chronicles universe, and all of the characters, so I am SUPER excited that she is returning to it. By the time this is published, I will probably be finished the series so this timing is perfect. ALSO – it says the whole crew will be there, and I’m SO HAPPY. We’ll get to see what the gang is up to, plus Carswell Thorne, my god I have a soft spot for that man. Don’t get me wrong, I love Kai and Wolf so so much, but Thorne just gets to me more. Anyways, I am just hoping that this lives up to the hype, because otherwise I’ll be so disappointed.


Title: Empress of a Thousand Skies30269126
Author: Rhoda Belleza
Publication Date: February 7th, 2017

Wow okay, SO MANY BEAUTIFUL BOOKS. I’m going to be broke by the end of February. This book follows a badass sounding girl trying to avenge her throne and family, and lost soul of a guy just trying to clear his name. Do I hear Doctor Who crossed with Lunar Chronicles?? I could be wrong completely but I am HELLA excited about this book. (So excited I’m using slang in a blog post, who even am I?) I am so ready for the books of 2017. Rhoda Belleza is a also diverse author, as she is Filipino, and this book has diverse characters so even more of a reason to read it!


Title: Gilded Cage30258320
Author: Vic James
Publication Date: February 14th, 2017

I swear, book covers get more gorgeous every year. But a book about?? Overthrowing the ARISTOCRACY??? SIGN ME UP. I will always root for the underdog, it’s so hard not to. There’s also magic, so even better. As long as this doesn’t take the enslavement aspect the racist route, I should be a happy camper. I guess I’ll find out in February after I go broke from all of these new releases. This book is also the first in a series so my god I will be broke for years.

 


Title: Long May She Reign30320053
Author: Rhiannon Thomas
Publication Date: February 21st, 2017

This book is essentially about a girl who had almost no chance of becoming queen and then it happens under deadly circumstances, and she has to find the murderer while also learning to rule her kingdom. I really hope this story has a ton of character growth, as it’s supposedly a standalone novel, which I can fully get behind. There are too many series out there, I can’t keep up! Also, can we talk about how gorgeous this cover is?! The font is giving me Percy Jackson vibes, and I am okay with that.


Title: Hunted24485589
Author: Meagan Spooner
Publication Date: March 14th, 2017

Oh god, this book is a Beauty & the Beast retelling, and I am 100 percent behind this. It sounds amazing, and it retells the original version of the “fairy” tale, and ‘Beauty’ (or Yeva) sounds like a badass woman. I could almost scream, as long as her character lives up it, and doesn’t fall into the typical “badass heroine” trope (ie. I’m super ordinary but like amazing at fighting for no reason, etc etc.) . The story of Beauty & the Beast is one of my favourites, so I am eager to see how Spooner goes with this version.


Title: Flame in the Mist23308087
Author: Renee Ahdieh
Publication Date: May 2nd 2017

Another book from diverse author Renee Ahdieh?? A book that’s a retelling/based on Mulan??? A book with a badass female lead??? Say no more. I am so in love with Ahdieh’s writing and her duology The Wrath and the Dawn, so I can proudly say I am definitely buying this book. Also this cover is more beautiful than I am. I can’t wait to dive into this new world Ahdieh has created; I can already tell that it’s going to be beautiful and amazing just from the synopsis! Long live Renee Ahdieh, and her beautiful diverse writing.


Title:  The Crown’s Fate (The Crown’s Game #2)27211901
Author: Evelyn Skye
Publication Date: May 16th, 2017

I really enjoyed Skye’s debut novel The Crown’s Game and this sequel sounds just as promising. I loved reading about Russian culture, as it’s not a popular one in YA books, and the whole society with magic was written very well. I also loved Skye’s characters (Pasha has such a soft spot in my heart), and I am dying to know how the events that happened in The Crown’s Game will play out in the second book. I really recommend starting this series if you haven’t already. There’s intricate characters, deep bonds, and the love triangle was done well enough I didn’t feel so put off by it!


Title: The Love Interest31145148
Author: Cale Dietrich
Publication Date: May 16th 2017

The synopsis for this book sounds like the boys fall in love with each other instead of with the girl and HO BOY I hope so – the plot should be very interesting and I’m eager to read this intriguing story. Plus this book is poking fun at typical YA tropes and I want them to be ripped apart by Dietrich! Plus, a diverse LGBTQA+ book for those of us looking to read more diversely. I really hope the narration flips between both boys’ perspectives, and the novel doesn’t just end with “they’re actually straight hahaha” because I may kick something if that happens.


Title: Wonder Woman: Warbringer29749085
Author: Leigh Bardugo
Publication Date: August 29th, 2017

My god, I’m shook already about how utterly amazing this new novel sounds. This is probably my most anticipated release for 2017, and I know it’s not until August, but I feel like screaming when thinking about the fact that this tells the story of Wonder Woman, and it’s written by Leigh Bardugo! It’s about the most badass women ever (Diana and Alia), and I am overjoyed at this book being published. Wonder Woman is the only super hero by DC I really like and have looked into (other than Batman) so I am ecstatic about this book. I’m over the moon you could say. Overall, I have a feeling this will be in my top books of 2017!


 

Well there you have it! My top ten most anticipated releases for the first half of 2017. I’m super eager to read and share my thoughts on these books with all of you, so 2017 can’t come any faster!! Let me know if any of these books are on your most anticipated releases for 2017 as well!

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Books I’m Looking Forward To For The First Half Of 2017

  1. Omg all the books on your list sound SO GOOD! Not to mention have the most beautiful covers 😍 I will definitely have to add these to my list because they look like they’ll be great reads!

    Like

Leave a Reply

