Top Ten Tuesday – Top Six Artists for Reading & Writing

Hi everyone! I know a post is long overdue from me, but unfortunately my return to university was busier than ever! I know one of my resolutions of 2017 was to post on my blog twice a week, and I haven’t achieved that yet, but we’re only coming up to the end of January so I have hope! As I get back into my blogging routine, I figured I would get back in with Top Ten Tuesdays! Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, and they always have awesome topics! This week is a freebie, so I wanted to create a list of my favourite music artists to listen to when I’m writing and reading. Music is a big part of the writing process for me, and even with reading, it can really add to the atmosphere of a novel (maybe this is just me, but all the same, I just really love music).

I’ll be listing this by artist, and then point out notable songs I love, and describe which genre I usually use this artist as a go-to for; this will be YA I refer to, but these artists can work for anything you connect them with. I’m going to try and incorporate as many different genres of music as I can,  but I usually listen to rock and metal (surprising to anyone?) So here we go!


  1. Bastille

Notable Songs: Oblivion, The Draw, Laura Palmer, Tuning Out…, Snakes and Power
Genres: Fantasy, Sci-Fi, and Contemporary

bastille_all_this_bad_bloodI’ve loved Bastille for quite a few years now (okay 4, no I’m not obsessive I swear) and I actually first found them on Youtube. They are still one of my go-to artists, just because their music has such variety. I find their compilation album All This Bad Blood is my favourite so far, because it has songs from their first EP and album together. It’s a mix of darker songs and upbeat pop vibes, and I love them all. I’d say depending on which album you listen to affects which genre it appeals to, as each one has a different vibe. But it’s all up to you!


2.  Daughter

Notable Songs: Smother, Youth, Medicine, Shallows and Still 
Genres: Contemporary, Historical Fiction

220px-ifyouleavedaughterHonestly, Daughter can work for any genre if there is tragedy or ‘sad’ plot moments within the story, but I’d say it works best for contemporary and historical fiction due to the band being the softer genre of folk rock, and the topics that Elena Tonra sings about. I particularly love Smother and Medicine for powerful emotional moments, particularly tragic ones. Tonra’s lyrics and voice are particularly haunting, which is why this band is great for those gut-wrenching parts of a plot.


3. Disturbed

Notable Songs: Warrior, Open Your Eyes, Indestructible, Ten Thousand Fists, I’m Alive and Who Taught You How to Hate
Genres: Dystopian, Fantasy, Horror, Thriller

indestructibleOkay, so my first heavy metal band on this list, and I know this isn’t a music genre for everyone, but if you love atmospheric music for writing and reading heavier genres of fiction, this band is for you. Disturbed is one of my favourite bands ever, so it was very hard to pick notable songs since I almost all of them. I’d say I listen to Disturbed the most for my writing, due to the genres I enjoy writing, and most of their songs perfectly fit my WIP, which makes me very happy. But I’d definitely say they are perfect for that post-apocalyptic novel you’re reading, or that heavy fight scene in the fantasy book you’re writing. I do not think you can go wrong with Disturbed.


4. DOROTHY

Notable Songs: Missile, Gun In My Hand, Dark Nights and Raise Hell
Genres: Dystopian, Fantasy, Historical Fiction, Sci-Fi

5ucddo01DOROTHY is another rock band, and I am so in love with them. I put them on the list because they’re my go-to for a badass heroine. I was tempted to list them for all genres, as they could be adaptable for reading and writing any genre depending on the moment in the plot. But because Dorothy Martin’s voice is so badass, their songs connect with all badass heroines in my head. So really it’s up to you what you do with their music. They did just release their first full album last June, and it’s glorious.


5. Kodaline

Notable Songs: All Comes Down, Autopilot, After the Fall, Human Again and Everything Works Out In the End
Genres: Contemporary, Romance, Mystery

kodaline_-_in_a_perfect_worldKodaline is another rock band very dear to my heart (although they are much lighter than the previous ones on this list). I put mystery down for their genre because it could work for that as some of their songs have a very mystical feel. I wouldn’t say they fit for darker topics in fiction due to the lighter sound of their music, but I’m sure they could still inspire anything! I personally think they fit contemporary the best, but everyone has different opinions and views when it comes to music, which is part of what makes music so special!


6. Rise Against

Notable Songs: The Strength to Go On, Savior, The Great Die-Off, Architects, Prayer of the Refugee, Endgame and People Live Here
Genres: Dystopian, Fantasy, Sci-Fi, Thriller, Horror

01c02cfdfd5b2f6cca0b5ccd6389c2e629291250Okay, I know I said I’d try to list more than rock bands, but apparently I can never betray my rock roots. There was no way I couldn’t put Rise Against on the list, as their songs cover so many topics, they could really fit any genre (Tim McIlrath also writes the songs himself and his voice is beautiful). Their songs really have that ‘rebel against the oppressive government/leader/enemy/whoever’ that gets me pumped for both reading and writing high action scenes. Rise Against’s slower songs are just as beautifully crafted and can really heighten emotional moments. Please check them out if you haven’t already.


 

Well, those are my Top Six Artists for Reading & Writing! Let me know if you listen to any of these artists, or any artists that are your go-to’s for reading and writing. I love discovering new music, and I love talking about it almost as much as I do books! I hope you enjoyed this post, and I’ll see you soon!

Leave a Reply

