My Diverse Book TBR

Hello hello everyone. I know I disappeared from the blogging world for a little bit, but the end of my second year was just so busy, I had to focus solely on my academic work for the most part. Now I’m on summer break, I can focus more on reading and blogging again! I figured what’s a better “I’m back!” post than discussing the diverse books I am SO excited to read, either when they are finally released or when I get them in my hands (since some have already been published this year)! So buckle in and prepare yourselves for some amazingly diverse books!

  1. The Hate U Give – Angie Thomas
  2. Stay with Me – Ayobami Adebayo
  3. Flame in the Mist – Renee Ahdieh
  4. When Dimple Met Rishi – Sandhya Menon
  5. Want – Cindy Pon
  6. Saints and Misfits – S.K. Ali
  7. Girl on the Verge – Pintip Dunn
  8. The Library of Fates – Aditi Khorana
  9. Little & Lion – Brandy Colbert
  10. Forest of a Thousand Lanterns – Julie C. Dao
  11. Like Water – Rebecca Podos

These books contain many PoC, LGBTQA+ and #ownvoices protagonists, which is why I am so excited to read these. I do have many more diverse books on my list, but this is just giving you a glimpse! I really hope the community realizes that we need much more diversity in the publishing industry, so we can see even more change to supporting PoC and LGBTQA+ authors, writers, and have young people of these groups see themselves positively represented in the books they read.

Good representation is extremely important, and we in the YA book community must do all that we can to promote these diverse and #ownvoices books. I will be reading as diversely as possible now, making sure to critically analyze any book that is not written by a diverse or own voices author about how they portray these minority groups, and reflecting these observations to the best of my ability in my reviews. Obviously since I am a white woman, I cannot speak on the behalf of people of colour, whether they be black, indigenous, east asian, south asian, pacific islander, middle eastern, and more, and I will never be able to understand the struggles and oppression these different groups face due to my white privilege. But I want to use my white privilege to boost their voices on the issues these folks face every day, and support them in this fight for equality not just in the book world, but in our modern world as well.

I would also like to provide support in helping my fellow LGBTQA+ readers and bloggers see themselves positively represented in books, since surprise! I’m actually bisexual. I’ve been wanting to share this with my friends in the book community as I don’t want to hide who I am anymore. I recently came to terms with my identity and I would love to see more positive bisexual representation so I can see myself more in books, and the same goes for my fellow LGBTQA+ readers – I want to see our community represented and support ownvoices authors. While I will never be able to speak for any LGBTQA+ experience but my own, I will do my best to analyze books and how they represent people of our community.

I will also do my best to support and boost the voices of disabled people in the book community, as ableism is still very apparent in society. Their voices and stories are just as important, and should have the same opportunities as able-bodied people do. As someone who has a disabled family member, I have witnessed how difficult and unhelpful society can be, so I will do my best to promote their voices so they can be heard, as I cannot speak for them since I am an able-bodied and -minded person.

If you took the time to read this post I also just want to thank you. It means a great deal to me to have your support, and I hope you enjoy my reviews! If you have any diverse book recommendations you think I would enjoy please let me know!

I have also just created a Ko-fi page, as I am a struggling student just trying to pay bills. If you enjoy my blog posts, please consider donating to my cause. I appreciate any amount if you can spare it. Thank you so much and watch out for more frequent posts!

Leave a Reply

