June LGBTQA+ TBR

Hello everyone and happy Pride month!! Although every day should be Pride day, this month I am planning on only reading LGBTQA+ books to support all of our stories! Although of course I will be making sure to read diversely year round, especially since I belong to this lovely community! So here is my June TBR, with all #ownvoices authors!

  1. Everything Leads to You – Nina LaCour (f/f rep)
  2. History Is All You Left Me – Adam Silvera (m/m rep)
  3. If I Was Your Girl – Meredith Russo (trans rep)
  4. Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit – Jaye Robin Brown (f/f rep)
  5. Annie On My Mind – Nancy Garden (f/f rep)
  6. Every Heart a Doorway – Seanan McGuire (ace rep)

I know six books may not seem like a lot, but they’re even a stretch as I have been so busy with work lately, but it’s slowing down a bit so I will have more time to read in June! If you have any other awesome LGBTQA+ recommendations send them my way! I’m always looking for diverse books to add to my TBR since positive representation is good no matter what month or day!

I would like to say that I am interested in bi books with female protagonists that aren’t always in a f/f couple. It’s often expected for bi people to “end up” with someone of the same gender or they aren’t queer enough, which is very harmful and erases a lot of the bi community. I am one of those who hasn’t ended up with a woman, and to see people say that I am not valid because my significant other is a man is really harmful and is really bi erasure. Me dating a guy doesn’t change what my sexuality is or who I am. So please don’t insinuate that it does. I would also like to see more m/m bi relationships and genderfluid bi relationships, as they are very often just f/f, and people of any gender can be bisexual, it is not part of a binary.

Let me know what books you’re reading for Pride month, and if you have any recommendations. Happy reading everyone! 🌈

Leave a Reply

